Islands - My new finds

Started by Alex Island, October 02, 2021, 09:29:40 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Alex Island

I have been collecting all the islands for many years, but I constantly find new ones about which I did not know before, and this is amazing .. Or there find are photos of tokens about which I knew only a description without a photo.  8)
Here I will post some of my new finds that I made recently.

If you find anything interesting on this topic, please add to this collection.  :)

All islands around the world & islands coin

Alex Island

For the first time I discovered a photo of a token, which I previously knew only from descriptions.

wiki Honey Island, Texas

They write that though not usually an island, it is located on elevated land between the Cypress and Flat Cypress creeks, which rise in heavy rain, thereby temporarily isolating the area as an island.

Honey Island map

Before this find, I only had a text with a description:

Alex Island

Seven Islands of Bombay. Entertaining research.

Bombay used to be located on seven islands. I found a lot of tokens, and tried to determine which islands they can be attributed to. It is a curious task. For example, I defined these two tokens as referring to the island of Mazagaon:

QuoteMazagaon, also spelled Mazgaon and Mazagon (Portuguese rule Mazagão), and pronounced by the Catholics as 'Mazgon' or 'Maz-a-gon' and the Marathi-speakers as Mazgav. It is one of the seven islands of Mumbai. It is part of South Mumbai and can be reached by Byculla Station on the Central railway line and Dockyard Road Station on the Harbour Railway line. Located in Mazagaon are maritime companies like the Bombay Port Trust and Mazagaon Dock Ltd., the Mazagaon Court and Anglo-Indian schools

Alex Island

Islands in Florida, USA.