Coin design and diversity

Started by <k>, February 04, 2023, 04:11:06 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

<k>

From The Conversation:

Putting King Charles III on British currency bucks a global trend to honor diverse national heroes on coins and bills.

Extracts:

I'm a history professor and founder of the Black Money Exhibit. I'm also a member of the Citizens Coinage Advisory Committee at the United States Mint, which advises the secretary of the Treasury on the themes and designs of all U.S. coins and medals. For years I have closely monitored the evolving perspectives worldwide regarding the look of coinage and paper money. Those perspectives focus on the need to present more diverse historical figures on currency. The changing attitudes are affecting not only the U.K. but the United States as well.

A major diversification of U.S. currency has been underway since 2017, when the U.S. Mint issued a collectible commemorative gold coin depicting Lady Liberty as an African American woman. Today, the proposed Harriet Tubman $20 bill still seems to be on track. These changes, along with the depiction of writer Maya Angelou and other diverse women through the mint's American Women Quarters Program, is a welcome break from the past.

In June 2020 the Bank of England acknowledged its role in the trans-Atlantic slave trade and pledged to develop more inclusive policies and practices. What's more, the bank has promised to include more Black people, Asians and other minorities on their bank notes and coins.

Now, with the death of the queen and inauguration of a new king, will the Bank of England honor that commitment?
Visit the website of The Royal Mint Museum.

See: The Royal Mint Museum.

FosseWay

Um, no.

The diversity of BoE banknotes (or lack thereof) is defined by the choice of subject for the other side, not the side with the king's portrait. The king serves the same purpose as a coat of arms or a symbolic animal (the eagle for the US).