Author Topic: Privately produced jewelery copy of a Shahjahanabad rupee of Muhammad Shah  (Read 1137 times)

Offline asm

• Honorary Member
  • Ahmedabad, India
Please help attribute this rupee which appears to be an issue of Jaiselmir with the psedu mint name of Dar al-Khilafat, Shahjahanabad. RY 22.

Amit

« Last Edit: April 08, 2010, 06:56:17 PM by Rangnath »
"It Is Better To Light A Candle Than To Curse The Darkness"

Offline Rangnath

• Honorary Member
Re: A Rupee Jaisalmir?
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2010, 06:01:26 PM »
I can not be of any help Amit.  :(
I recognize this as a rupee of Jaisalmir (what is the weight?  Could it be a copy?)  in the Akhey Shahi series.
In the obverse, I looked to see what I can see above the "n" in "giran" but I can see little of interest.  Is the Schroff mark concealing something?  The calligraphy of the coin looks disconnected.  I looked in the standard catalog for similar examples but I don't see any.  But I admit, I have little experience with such coins. 
richie

Offline Oesho

• Honorary Member
Re: A Rupee Jaisalmir?
« Reply #2 on: April 07, 2010, 06:55:37 PM »
Dear Amit,
Despite the fact that the coin bears the Ry.22 of Muhammad Shah, the fabric and calligraphy is too alien to be of Jaisalmer. It remains just a guess who’s fabricated this odd rupee, but it looks more like a privately produced jewellery piece.

Offline Rangnath

• Honorary Member
Re: Privately produced jewellery (?) copy of a Jaisalmir Rupee
« Reply #3 on: April 07, 2010, 07:07:37 PM »
Thanks Oesho. 
I changed the title to "Privately produced jewelery (?) copy of a Jaisalmir Rupee. I wonder how you, Oesho, would have framed it.  I feel confident about the word "copy", but I suppose there could be other explanations for intent besides a Jeweler's, hense the use of (?).  Perhaps knowing the weight might help.
richie

Offline asm

• Honorary Member
  • Ahmedabad, India
Re: Privately produced jewellery (?) copy of a Jaisalmir Rupee