Author Topic: Cyprus: final coinage under British rule  (Read 539 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Deeman

  • Moderator
  • Meritorious Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 618
Re: Cyprus: final coinage under British rule
« Reply #16 on: December 08, 2020, 10:49:20 AM »
The British Sovereign Base Areas of Akrotiri in the west and Dhekelia in the east have stayed under British jurisdiction and remained British sovereign territory when the 1960 Treaty of Establishment created the independent Republic of Cyprus.
Because they are run as military bases, the Sovereign Base Area Administration reports to the British Ministry of Defence in London, rather than the Foreign and Commonwealth Office.
The currency is the Euro.