James Walker was the owner of the Tontine Hotel. By 1840 he was running stage coaches and mail coaches and by 1847 he was running omnibuses. These were on the Rutherglen and Partick routes.
In 1856 James Walker was running omnibuses from Partick to Glasgow. He charged 5d for both inside and outside. The Glasgow and Partick Omnibus Company started in 1856 and charged 4d inside, 3d outside. It was claimed that James Walker changed his fares to 3d inside and 2d outside at this time and stopped running omnibuses from Partick in 1857. In 1864 James Walker started running omnibuses on the Patick route again, charging 3d inside and 2d outside.
The Glasgow & Partick Omnibus Company Limited took James Walker to court in January 1865 to try and get James Walker to stop using a red light on the front of the omnibus. They lost the case. One reason given was that a red light was not unique to the Glasgow and Partick Omnibus Company. Another reason was the carriages looked different.
The James Walker carriages were described as plain in style and painted white. The side panels had the name "Walker's". The rear door had the name "James Walker" and the places passed on the route. The carriages were smaller and more crudely made than those of the Glasgow and Partick Omnibus Company.
James Walker's business was succeeded by John E Walker in 1867.