Author Topic: Housing the New Collection.  (Read 1314 times)

akona20

Housing the New Collection.
« on: June 02, 2010, 06:53:40 AM »
Just finished re cataloging the fanams and housing them is relatively simple.

However in starting out on the ruppees of the Mughal Empire and the occasional Princely State I need to do a little more.

1. House the coin itself after examination.
2. Place this housed coin in a binder or something similar that has two pages of explanation for each coin.
3. The pages consist of the first page being a large picture of the coin with the full translation of the script, the coin's full attribution and catalogue number and the second page a breakdown of the script of the coin as per Overlord's demonstrations.

The pages can be encapsulated of course but it is the coin and the ability to file in such a folder with the obverse and reverse viewable that i am struggling with.

As you can see I have no real knowledge on what is available commercially.

Any help would be appreciated.

Offline Figleaf

• Administrator
  • Honorary Member
Re: Housing the New Collection.
« Reply #1 on: June 02, 2010, 08:51:58 AM »
Have a look here. This page is in Dutch, but the pictures give you a good idea of what is commercially available.

This thread is on coin albums, while coin cartons are discussed here.

The main disadvantage of cartons is that the staples look ugly, while coin in self-adhesive cartons cannot be taken out without tearing the carton apart. If you want to take out the coins often, capsules, such as these may be more cost effective.

I find cartons and album pages at coin markets and coin dealers, but some shops selling office material carry them also. I all else fails you can mail-order them from the net.

Peter
An unidentified coin is a piece of metal. An identified coin is a piece of history.

Offline Salvete

• Honorary Member
« Reply #2 on: June 09, 2010, 05:46:46 PM »