Isle of Man: Women's Suffrage 2 pound series 2021

Started by eurocoin, November 02, 2021, 07:13:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.


The Isle of Man has issued a series of 4 coins to commemorate the 140th anniversary of the introduction of the right to vote for women in 1881. The Isle of Man was the first place to grant women the right to vote in a general election. The designs depict the historic signing of poll books in 1881 by the first women to vote at each of the polling stations in the first contested constituency of Ayre. The coins respectively depict the names of Esther Kee, Margaret Kelvin, Catherine Callow and Eliza Jane Goldsmith being signed. The pieces were designed by Glyn Davies and minted at Tower Mint. A 4-coin set will be available for sale locally. It is unknown whether the coins will also be available from the Westminster Collection. The coins will also be released into general circulation on the Isle of Man.


I do not really see the relevance of issuing these 4 coins for this subject. Just 1 coin would have sufficed, if any at all. The designs are boring and way too busy. One would expect more from a former Royal Mint artist.