Identifying Ancient Indian Coins - Akbar gold mohurs - real or fake

Started by pjmat2, July 30, 2021, 05:34:49 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

pjmat2

Hello all,

I am an amateur numismatist, my grandfather was the consummate historian and collector. I spent many hours with him as a youth, listening to stories and looking through his stamps and coins, all of which came back to an important moment in history. He never collected on a value basis, always on a narrative he found appealing. Like when he picked up an ancient roman coin, he asked me to imagine that this very coin gained someone entrance into the colosseum to spectate the gladiators. How I didn't appreciate those moments enough, at the time, but they remain as such cherished memories now.

He left me some coins, which, years ago drove an interest in me to identify, research and admire the unlabelled assortment. The European, American and even the Ottoman coins were very easy, but the ancient coins, in particular the Indian and Chinese, completely mystify me.

I've had help in the Coin Community Forums over the years, Seeker55 is a gun, but even he said these next two coins are for the World of Coins crew. So could anyone shed any light?

I spent ages looking into it years ago, but never really nailed an exact match. Then gave up...until now.

The round coin weighs 10.2 grams, 20 mm in diameter. Some sort of Mohua of the Moghal era.

The square coin weighs 11.8 grams, 19 mm and same era I think. Seeker55 said the following:

"The square coin is a "heavy mohur" based on its weight. There are significant similarities to this heavy mohur of Akbar

https://www.zeno.ru/showphoto.php?photo=155894