Author Topic: Muhammad Shah. Rupee. Mint: Surat. AH 113X RY: 2  (Read 503 times)

Offline mmalhotra

• Reader
Muhammad Shah. Rupee. Mint: Surat. AH 113X RY: 2
« on: October 28, 2018, 05:01:45 AM »
Hi everyone,

I recently purchased this Mughal coins on eBay from Raman-coins. They are guaranteeing they are genuine but I'm not sure. I have not yet received the items. How can one tell whether they are fake or real?

Link: https://www.ebay.com/itm/MUGHAL-MUHAMMAD-SHAH-SURAT-MINT-BROAD-FLAN-1-RUPEE-1720-SILVER-MU17/382595016958?ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT&_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2649

Thanks in advance! :)
Mohak.

EDIT: Saving the image for future reference - should the link get broken.
« Last Edit: December 28, 2018, 07:00:46 AM by asm »

Offline Figleaf

• Administrator
  • Honorary Member
Re: Mughal Coin Authenticity
« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2018, 05:21:56 AM »
The coin looks OK to me at first sight, but I am no expert. Wait for others to react.

If you doubt the authenticity of a coin, don't buy through eBay. They are particularly unhelpful. Their bottom line has way more priority than stopping fraud. If your doubts are slight, it is best to ask for the weight of the coin. If you get no answer, an evasive answer or a weight that is too high, don't buy. If the weight is too low, consider wear and shroff marks and decide on the risk you are running.

Since you already bought the coin, it is best to await delivery, weigh it yourself immediately. Also, inspect the edge (the third dimension). If you see a seam running horizontally or another metal in the centre, your coin is a fake. Run over to a friendly jewellery shop and ask them if it looks like good silver.