Author Topic: Is this Bronze Disease or related to Zinc or other and how does one proceed?  (Read 1143 times)

Offline Geode101

I am a beginner and have recently started trying to collect Kashmir Sultanate coins. The image shown is of a Kaserah of Muhammad Shah GG K 47 which weighs 5.38 g. On the obverse (viewer's right hand side) is a whitish region that doesn't quite look like most of the bronze disease shown in at least some of the messages in the 'Cleaning, Storage and Conservation' section. Is this a variety of bronze disease or due to an interaction with zinc or....?

Should the coin be treated?

If you were a beginner and the effect is dangerous to the coin, what should a beginner do?  I am elderly and would feel uncomfortable using acidic, alkaline substances, boiling. I would have no trouble with olive oil, and if something toxic was involved would prefer a ready to use commercially manufactured easy to use product.

Thanks so much for any advice.

« Last Edit: May 06, 2015, 05:18:19 AM by Geode101 »

Offline Figleaf

• Administrator
  • Honorary Member
It is not immediately clear to me what the white stuff is, but it doesn't look too bad. Something that was spilled on the coin, maybe. I think it is on the coin, not in the coin.

The first thing to do would be to wash it softly (no scrubbing) in soapy water, rinse and dry well. This should remove fatty substances but it should not affect the patina. The second thing to try would be acetone, which would remove paint, plastic debris and glue (the white stuff may be dried glue), again without affecting the patina. Olive oil would probably do nothing on the white stuff. It's good for softening dirt and lightening oxides, but your coin needs neither.

Many of us are of pensionable age. It's not important. What is important is capacity and willingness to learn. You'll do fine.

Peter
An unidentified coin is a piece of metal. An identified coin is a piece of history.

Offline Geode101