Author Topic: Chinese Charm(?) - Translation  (Read 1114 times)

Offline JRM24

Chinese Charm(?) - Translation
« on: February 04, 2015, 04:12:32 PM »
Dear Fellow Collectors,

I'm fairly new to the field of world coins, having spent most of my numismatic interest in years past on ancient coinage.  In any event, I have recently begun exploring the exciting field of charms and came across a reverse type (legend) that I cannot translate, despite having checked a number of on-line sources (photograph attached).

The obverse depicts a coiled dragon: 30mm - 9.02 grams.

The reverse legend/inscription might provide a clue as to the charm category this may belong. Any help at all would be appreciated.

Thank you,
John

Online bgriff99

• Meritorious Member
Re: Chinese Charm(?) - Translation
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2015, 03:17:40 AM »
With a stack of Chinese and Japanese dictionaries, I can't make it out either.   Center character is not in my books.   Similar to 'Han', but probably having something to do with plants. 

Top character is 'zhang' (pinyin) for excelling, grow, or long.   That is seen at the top on some charms.

Right is two words for "all (or together) fields".   A good compound for 'communal farm', but I don't find the two words together in any dictionary.

Bottom character seems stylized, or mixed with seal script or something.   Closest words might be "lu" for 'arranged, or 'compared', or "ming" for 'decree'.

Left character is way out there.   Looks like a brand, or stylized name of something.

Overall, and very tentatively, I'd guess it is an agricultural award, as might be passed out to individuals within a particular commune, or to a whole collective unit.

Offline SquareEarth

• cn jp kr vn
« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2015, 04:29:44 PM »
First of all, the script.

In Chinese, there are two ways to read a coin:

The coin you've given follows the "straight reading" layout.

And the four characters are:

"長命富貴" (Chang Ming Fu Gui)