Author Topic: Revive Metcalfe's animal designs in Irish Euro Set!  (Read 1454 times)

Offline SquareEarth

• cn jp kr vn
Revive Metcalfe's animal designs in Irish Euro Set!
« on: December 15, 2013, 01:58:56 PM »

Since I saw Figleaf's great post about the old Irish coins, I decided to revive Metacafe's old design in Ireland's Euro set. I'm not an artist and cannot imitate the simple beauty of original design, so sadly I'm not able to add any new animal to the set.

It turned out, only the 2 Euro coin is completely satisfactory.

Quote from: Figleaf
For me, though, 2002 marks the second great tragedy of modern Irish numismatics ... the complete loss of the Metcalfe designs, coupled with the fact that the Irish chose only a single design for their national side of their new euro coinage: the harp.  The beauty and variety of the old designs were now lost. Even fans of the euro have often bemoaned the fact that the Irish chose a single boring design. The Irish themselves still seem be in love with the old Metcalfe designs, judging by their recent collector issues. Whether they were well advised to attempt to update Metcalfe's designs in such a way is a moot question.
« Last Edit: November 10, 2015, 08:36:32 PM by Niels »
Tong Bao_Tsuho_Tong Bo_Thong Bao

Offline SquareEarth

• cn jp kr vn
Re: Revive Metcalfe's animal designs in Irish Euro Set!
« Reply #1 on: December 15, 2013, 02:08:47 PM »
The whole set look like this.
« Last Edit: November 10, 2015, 08:36:02 PM by Niels »

Offline SquareEarth

• cn jp kr vn
« Reply #2 on: December 15, 2013, 02:16:05 PM »
Break down:

Hare for one eurocent,

Sow and litter for two eurocents,

Hen and chickens for five eurocents

Salmon for ten eurocents,

Irish Wolfhounds for twenty eurocents,

Woodcock for fifty eurocents

Horse for one euro

Red deer for two euro

« Last Edit: November 10, 2015, 08:35:32 PM by Niels »

Offline chrisild

• Honorary Member
  • NW DE EU
« Reply #3 on: December 15, 2013, 02:20:41 PM »