The euro: Present and future

Started by <k>, February 12, 2011, 12:25:00 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.


The Present

EU member states that use the euro

01  Austria
02  Belgium
03 Croatia
04  Cyprus
05  Estonia
06  Finland
07  France
08  Germany
09  Greece
10  Ireland
11  Italy
12  Latvia
13  Lithuania
14  Luxembourg
15  Malta
16  Netherlands
17  Portugal
18  Slovakia
19  Slovenia
20  Spain

Non-euro countries that participate in the
European Exchange Rate Mechanism (ERM-II)

Denmark (opt-out)

EU Member states required to introduce
the euro if they meet the convergence criteria

01  Bulgaria
02  Czech Republic
03  Hungary
04  Poland
05  Romania
06  Sweden

Non-EU countries in Europe that use the euro

01  Andorra (MA)
02  Kosovo
03  Monaco (MA)
04  Montenegro
05  San Marino (MA)
06  Vatican City (MA)

Note: MA = These countries have monetary agreements
with the European Union and issue euro coins.

The euro also circulates in:

The overseas French departments and territories of

1] Guyane (French Guiana)
2] French Southern and Antarctic Lands
3] Guadeloupe
4] Martinique
5] Mayotte
6] Réunion
7] Saint Pierre and Miquelon
8] Saint Barthélemy
9] Saint Martin

The Portuguese overseas provinces of

1] Azores
2] Madeira

The Spanish overseas provinces
making up The Canary Islands

Two small Spanish exclaves in Northern Morocco

1] Ceuta
2] Melilla

The UK military bases on Cyprus

1] Akrotiri
2] Dhekelia

Zimbabwe uses the euro as one of its currencies.

The following non-EU countries have pegged
the rate of their currency to the euro:

1] Bosnia and Herzegovina
2] Comoros
3] Cape Verde

4] The CFA franc countries:

    Burkina Faso
    Central African Republic
    Republic of the Congo
    Côte d'Ivoire
    Equatorial Guinea

5]  The CFP franc countries:

     French Polynesia
     New Caledonia
     Wallis and Futuna

6]  Morocco
7]  São Tomé and Príncipe
Visit the website of The Royal Mint Museum.

See: The Royal Mint Museum.


The Future

Candidate Countries

1] Albania
2] Iceland
3] Macedonia
4] Montenegro
5] Serbia
6] Turkey

Note: Candidate countries have applied
to the EU and been accepted in principle.

When they will actually join the EU (if at all)
is not yet known. However, any that do join
will be required to introduce the euro, if they
meet the convergence criteria.

Applicant Countries


Note: These countries have applied for EU membership
but are still not recognised as official candidates.
Visit the website of The Royal Mint Museum.

See: The Royal Mint Museum.


Visit the website of The Royal Mint Museum.

See: The Royal Mint Museum.


Today the European Commission and the European Central Bank published their convergence reports about the status of the member states that are theoretically obliged to introduce the euro: Bulgaria, Czechia, Hungary, Poland, Romania, Sweden.

Short version: No changes. :) Here is a brief overview:
(EC Report)
(ECB Report)