Author Topic: Android Application for Indian Coins  (Read 5922 times)

Offline Quant.Geek

• Honorary Member
Re: Android Application for Indian Coins
« Reply #15 on: December 20, 2012, 12:26:31 PM »
Most of the Android Applications are like this..... your query is legitimate .....But, What else do you ask

Not all applications are like this including the free ones.  I don't blindly install applications on my phone.  I check the permissions first and if it has an acceptable level, then I go ahead and install it.  This is the first application that I have seen that requires device ID,phone number, and the ability to read personal information and home settings...Not that I am knocking the developer.  I can appreciate what he has done as I am a Software Engineer myself.  So, I know the amount of work it takes to get this done...

Ram
A gallery of my coins can been seen at FORVM Ancient Coins

Offline nomadbird

• Meritorious Member
« Reply #16 on: December 20, 2012, 07:48:29 PM »
Not all applications are like this including the free ones.  I don't blindly install applications on my phone.  I check the permissions first and if it has an acceptable level, then I go ahead and install it.  This is the first application that I have seen that requires device ID,phone number, and the ability to read personal information and home settings...Not that I am knocking the developer.  I can appreciate what he has done as I am a Software Engineer myself.  So, I know the amount of work it takes to get this done...

Ram
Did you ever use any google applciations ?  below are the permissisons........Likewise many or most of them take perosnal info ....atleast what i have seen.

This application has access to the following:

Your accounts
    add or remove accounts
    Allows the app to perform operations like adding and removing accounts, and deleting their password.
    use accounts on the device
    Allows the app to request authentication tokens.
    Google mail