Error: extra metal

Started by nomadbird, May 21, 2011, 11:45:29 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

nomadbird

Hi All,

I got this coin in circulation and found a small amount of metal extra below the Horse. Is it an error ?

Thanks
Nirmal
Thx
Nomadbird

nomadbird

So all the experts here have no answers?
Thx
Nomadbird

Md. Shariful Islam

I am a newbie... Despite interested to know whether the color of the metal of the coin and the extra metal same or close look reveals at least minor difference. Is the edge of the  extra metal sufficiently smooth...

Islam

nomadbird

The color is exactly the same....

Thanks
Thx
Nomadbird

Md. Shariful Islam

I am waiting for the experts' comments and hope that it is an error...

Islam

Figleaf

Gentlemen, I have to work for a living and I was away for a few days.

This looks like the result of an improperly cleaned die to me. I have a similar effect on a euro coin somewhere, but no time to look it up right now (leaving on business again on Monday.)

Peter
An unidentified coin is a piece of metal. An identified coin is a piece of history.

Prosit

I think it is what is refered to in the US as a cud.

A cud is a damaged area resembling a blob on the surface of a coin which is raised above the field a little, and which obliterates the device or inscription where it appears. Cuds are the result of die cracks which have become severe, or from die chips where part of the die surface has become damaged and broken away.

Dale

Figleaf

Dale is right. I saw the blob as incuse (in the coin) not en relief (on top of the coin). I also found the euro coin struck with a filthy die. It is no longer relevant, but since I already scanned it, here it is.

Peter
An unidentified coin is a piece of metal. An identified coin is a piece of history.

Prosit

I think it is relevant, either take something away from the die or add something to it.  To me they are brother and sister errors.

Congratulations to both of you on the interesting coins!

Dale